Pinterest Attempt #1 – Mini Oreo Cheesecakes

Now I know that when I bake up treats they usually turn out BUT I find that random recipes from the internet don’t always work out.  So when I saw the Mini Oreo Cheesecake all over Pinterest for months, I decided to give it a go.  The trophy husband was heading out-of-town for the week so I figured this was the best time to try it – I can make them and send the majority of the cheesecakes with the boys so that I wouldn’t end up eating 4 bricks of cream cheese and an entire bag of Oreo’s all by myself.  Yes, there is 4 whole bricks of cream cheese in this recipe as well as an entire large box of Oreo’s.  YIKES!  Recipe below:

Mini Oreo Cheesecakes

4 – 8oz bricks of cream cheese, 1 cup of sour cream, 42 Oreo’s (30 left whole, 12 chopped), 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 4 large eggs (lightly beaten), pinch of salt

I elected to use 2 bricks of light cream cheese and 2 bricks of regular just to lighten it up a bit (because there has to be like 900 calories per mini cake).

Pre heat the oven to 275 F.  Put 30 cupcake liners in your muffin pans and put a whole cookie at the bottom of each.  Then with an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the cream cheese until  smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl.

Gradually add the sugar and beat until combined.  Then beat in  vanilla (I always give an extra little bit more than the recommended amount since I love vanilla soooooo much).  Next you will need to add the eggs – drizzling in a little at a time while continuing to beat the cheese.  Then add the sour cream and the salt.  Mix in the chopped cookies by hand.

The next step is to just spoon the filling into the cupcake liners over top of the cookie at the bottom.  You can fill them pretty full since they don’t grow too much at all.  Then just bake for about 22 minutes (until the center is set), rotating about halfway.  Let cool completely then keep them in the fridge.  And Voila!  A lovely treat.

PS – These are delicious – I would make them again for sure.  This recipe made 36 mini cakes and I still had filling left over but I ran out of cookies for the bottom.    The cheese cake is really good though – smooth, not grainy at all – could definitely use this recipe for a whole cake. Just swap out the oreo for a proper crust and leave it NY style.

This recipe is a definite YES!

That is a tasty treat right there (me snacking while at work).  One of my cousins almost cried he said it was so good – give it a try and tell me what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

