Who likes Birthday Cake?

So every year I make a birthday cake for my trophy husband.  The challenging part is doing a different one every year.  The first one was a deer (he’s a crazy hunter man).  The second one was an ice fishing cake – obviously because ice fishing is awesome.  The third was a fish and last years was a bear.  This past May I had to come up with a new one.  I decided to make one like our cat Koobs.  Hes all black so I figured it would be only medium challenging.

The first part was that I had to start with the lady bug cake pan from Wiltons and bake myself a lovely cake.  See below:

Look at that cute little lady bug.  But not for long!  You will soon be a handsome black cat!

The next step was to make the icing.  I like to use buttercream instead of fondant (waaaaayyyy better tasting) but I waaaaayyyy prefer the look of a cake frosted in fondant.  So I started investigating how to smooth buttercream out.  Unfortunately I did not take a picture of the required tools but it was actually kind of a neat process.

After I made the buttercream, I actually used a foam paint roller and some paper towel to smooth out the frosted cake.  I bought the smoothest non textured paper towel I could find and a never used (obviously) foam roller.

I used fondant for the tail and also for the legs and just placed the legs on top of the cake.  Then I frosted everything with the buttercream.  Once I had a nice coat, I let it sit for about 10-15 minutes so that it gets a little crusty on top.   Then I placed the paper towel on top and very gently rolled the foam roller and HOLY SHIT! That buttercream smoothed right out.

I just piped out some details and made the cheeks, eyes, whiskers and mouth out of fondant and arranged them on his face and he came out pretty freaking cute!

Can you see the resemblance?

Leave a Reply

