Canvas DIY

So.  I made this painting.  And I love how it turned out.

photo 5

This is how I made it.

I started with a simple canvas from Micheals – nothing fancy here, just a typical white canvas.  I then painted little x’s on it.

photo1

In many different colors.

photo2 photo3

Don’t forget to paint the edges!

I loved it just the way it was – BUT I wanted to change it up!

photo5 photo4

So I added some words – here I chose lyrics to one of my favorite Beatles songs.  Then I painted all over the top with grey paint.

photo 1

I wanted to be able to see under the grey paint a bit so  I didn’t do a heavy coat.  Once the grey paint started to dry I started to peel the stickers off.

photo 2

Looking good!

photo 3Once the grey paint was fully dry, I painted all over the entire painting with a shiny clear coat.  It seals the paint and gives it a nicer texture than just plain old dried acrylic paint.

photo 4I dribbled the clear coat all over the painting and then just spread it out.  Then it just needed to dry and BAM! Fantastic!

photo 5I am going to hang this in my bedroom!!

4 thoughts on “Canvas DIY

Leave a Reply

