Summer, where oh where have you gone?

Its officially the middle of August today and it really feels like this summer is winding down.  For me, it has been a crazy summer.  The craziest summer I have ever had, some parts better than others.  My wedding consumed me and my thoughts (and my sleep) from January on, so I was really kind of excited for it to be over so that I could enjoy the rest of the summer stress free.  I laugh at that now, because of course that’s not what happened.  Right at the beginning of June we had 2 funerals, both out of town, one out of province, a friends wedding, and a week later our wedding.  And it was lovely.  I am truly thankful that we were able to have such a wonderful day filled with friends, family, laughter and love.  I will cherish it forever.  But just a week later our little family was disrupted with some serious health issues (I’m not going to get into all that now), so when people ask me where we went/are going on our honeymoon, a side of me keeps wanting to say “the hospital”, but that would be inappropriate – I think.  But as long as everything goes as per plan, we should all be ok in the end.  Which to me, is much more important than going on a honeymoon to Mexico or Hawaii or whatever.

  At times like these, I just want to say to everyone, don’t take the little things you have for granted.  And even if you don’t have that new Louis Vuitton or a 2013 Nissan or a summer holiday to the Shuswaps, be thankful you have your health.  Because really, what is the rest of it if you don’t have the health to enjoy it?

One thought on “Summer, where oh where have you gone?

Leave a Reply

