Mini Transformations

Yay for my first post on my sexy new iMac!  Being a PC user for a loooong time, I am still getting myself aquainted to this computer – but so far I love it!

I bought this super cute little owl trivet from Vallue Village a few weeks back and have been intending on transforming it – but it seemed to be one of those little projects that I forgot about.  Well thankfully when I was cleaning out my linen closet the other day I found it in there!

DSC_0193

DSC_0196

Yes, you saw that right – $1.99.  And look how cute he is!  So obviously I snatched him up and I a decided to paint him a glossy black.  First things first, I washed him down with soapy water and let him dry.  Then I put him outside on my trusty painting blanky and got him ready to paint.  I used an engine paint meant for high temperatures – I figured, its a trivet, might as well use it as one and I didn’t trust just regular paint for high temperatures.

 DSC_0202DSC_0204

I painted the underside first so that if he got messed up when I flipped him, it would be the side no one sees.

DSC_0207

While this was drying, I played with my puppy.

DSC_0217

Look at that angel face!

Then I gave the owl a flip and painted his front out.  Now, you might notice I didn’t prime, but I figured, a project this small doesn’t need to be primed.  If it doesn’t last forever it wouldn’t be the biggest deal.

DSC_0226

I let him dry for over an hour outside since our hummidity was crazy high these past few days, then brought him in.

DSC_0236

He’s perfect!

 DSC_0232

Maybe kinda like something you would see at Urban Barn eh?

3 thoughts on “Mini Transformations

  1. Pingback: Jewelry Box Mini Make-over | The Fancy Lady

Leave a Reply

