My home is a constant work in progress

A few weeks ago, my mom went to Saskatchewan to help my grandmother clean out her old farm house.  This was the house that my grandfather built in the 50’s, that my mom was raised in, and that my grandmother still lived in (during the summer months) until she turned 90.  Last year she decided that it would be her last summer out on that farm, and that she was moving out.  That is how I ended up with this:

DSC_0295 DSC_0294

My mom knows that my trophy husband is very outdoorsy and thought “Kyle would love this for sure!”.  Sorry mom, not so in love with it, but knowing that it was my grandmas, I knew I wanted to do something to it.  So I painted it.

DSC_0298

I took her outside, elevated her on a small box on my trusty painting blanket and painted her a glossy white, with this:

DSC_0301

I love this paint.  I have used it for pretty much most of my projects, its cheap and it does the trick every time. And if you always buy the same brand, your painted items will always go with each other – especially since there are about a million different shades of white.

After I let her dry, I hung her up on my gallery wall in my stairwell.  It is worth noting that I am constantly working on this gallery wall – it has never been ‘finished’.  But I think that adding this little doe to the wall adds the ‘je ne sais quoi’ I was looking for.

DSC_0316

DSC_0315

DSC_0306

Hopefully one day soon I will get my shit together and complete this wall.

Cute though right?

8 thoughts on “My home is a constant work in progress

Leave a Reply

