Quinoa Love

Yesterday I made something amazing.  Although I am not the best cook, I have been wanting to make quinoa cakes for a while.  I pinned a recipe from Shop Girl, but I tweaked it a bit.  And they turned out so good, I would make these again in a heart beat.

DSC_0299

I love quinoa because its easy, its fibre and its protein, all wrapped into a perfect little grain.  Combined with cheese and broccoli (is that how you spell broccoli?), this makes for a tasty treat.

DSC_0298

The recipe calls for onion and broccoli, but my husband doesn’t eat onions so I omitted them from the recipe.  I also used low sodium vegetable broth to cook the quinoa instead of water because it adds more flavour.  I found that I needed more egg in my recipe when during the first batch, the cakes were easily falling apart while they were cooking.  The most important trick though is to have a hot pan and hot oil so that they cook up nice and brown.

DSC_0304

DSC_0302

DSC_0301

DSC_0305

They are amazing by themselves, but you can also serve them with a dipping sauce, my go to is always sweet chilli – it never fails.

The recipe as I did it:

1 box of Quinoa (Casbah brand), 2 cups low sodium vegetable broth, 1.5 cups cooked chopped broccoli, 1/2 cup bread crumbs, 1 cups cheddar cheese – grated, 3 eggs, pepper and garlic.  Combine all cooled ingredients in a bowl, then scoop 1/4 cup balls and squish them into patties.  Pan fry for about 5 minutes on each side, then eat.  They are good if you let them cool for a bit but there is a little adventure in eating them right after cooking.

Do it.

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Love

Leave a Reply

