Pinterest Fail #1Microwave Caramels

I was perusing Pinterest over the weekend and saw that I had pinned a recipe for microwave caramels  I thought – this looks so easy! And I have everything in my pantry, why not give it a go?

I’ll tell you why – because candy is a fussy bitch and if you want her to turn out you have to be precise.  This recipe is originally from Food.com and I decided to keep it exactly the same since I know how specific you have to be with candy.  See the recipe below:

1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup light corn syrup, 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk (I used Eagle Brand)

Directions were as follows:

1. Combine all ingredients  2. Cook 6 minutes in microwave, stirring every 2 minutes   3. Stir and poor into a lightly greased dish   4. Let cool   5. Cut wrap in wax paper and store in an airtight container

Sounds great right?  Except that with candy if you want it to behave you need to monitor its temperature.   Now I know this, but the reviews all raved about how great of a recipe it was, so I thought it must be right then. I was wrong, and so was the directions.  This is what 6 minutes in the microwave gave me:

DSC_0294

DSC_0299

DSC_0297

DSC_0300

A goopy, gloppy mess.  Now don’t get me wrong, the flavour was amazing.  But the timing was so off, this was obviously underdone.  If – no, When I attempt this recipe again, I will keep the ingredients the same, but I think I would prefer to cook them on a stove top and I will be definitely using a candy thermometer.  It is a recipe with great flavour, it just needs a little tweaking to work out the speed bumps.  Let me know if you give it a try!

April

 

Leave a Reply

