Wedding Series – Flowers

This was a tough one for me.  I knew that I wanted beautiful fresh flowers for our wedding, but I also knew that they came with a hefty cost.  Being budget conscious, I was kind of afraid.  I gathered some inspiration from Pinterest, and it was clear – I had expensive taste in flowers.

Bouquet 1

via

Bouquet 2

via

Bouquet 3

via

Bouquet 4

via

I learned a few things from this.  I loved bright colours, garden roses and peonies.  After searching a few florists, and getting a few quotes, I decided to use Laurels on Whyte and I had a great experience with them.  I got to deal directly with the owner who was both detailed and creative.  This is what they came up with:

IMG_037

We had light pink peonies, bright pink garden roses, yellow scented stock and hydrangeas – some of my absolute favourite flowers.  My bouquets was extra special for me because I tied my dad’s blue bow tie to it – the bow tie was my something borrowed and my something blue, and because had he passed away a few years before, it was his presence as well.

IMG_035

IMG_034

IMG_222

My girls had smaller versions of my bouquet but without the yellow stock and more hydrangea.  My little flower girl got a little posy of bright pink garden roses.

IMG_188

The boys’ boutonnieres were yellow roses – the trophy husband’s was bright pink.

IMG_385

At the tables, we chose hydrangea, bright pink roses and light green carnations to save some coin.  And they turned out lovely.

IMG_358

I couldn’t have been more in love with our flowers, and I would like to send a huge THANK YOU to the amazing team at Laurels on Whyte.

PS. All photographs are courtesy of my amazing photographer Nathan Walker of Nathan Walker Photography and they cannot be reproduced without permission (unless otherwise cited).

2 thoughts on “Wedding Series – Flowers

Leave a Reply

