Scratch Made Alfredo Sauce

I was having a hardcore craving for Alfredo about a week ago and I hate the idea of buying one ready made full of preservatives and salt and god only knows what else.  So I obviously went to Pinterest.

And I found a good one! It only has 4 ingredients listed on the original site where I found it.

DSC_0371

DSC_0369

DSC_0372

Ingredients:

1 cup whipping cream, 6 tablespoons butter, 6 tablespoons parmesan cheese, pepper

(I deleted the salt, there is so much salt in the cheese that the sauce does not need any more – plus its better for you)

Melt butter on medium low heat.  Add cream.  I stirred it constantly to make sure I wouldn’t let the cream burn. Once the butter cream mixture is warm, add the cheese.  Good parmesan cheese doesn’t melt instantly, so I used a whisk to stir the sauce until it was smooth.  Then just add pepper and/or garlic.  Continue cooking for about 15 minutes and it will thicken a bit.  I doubled this recipe so that I could have some left overs (and I like cheese so I used more cheese than the instructions suggested).

While it was cooking I boiled a package of angel hair pasta then added the pasta directly into the sauce.  It was really good.  And really easy.  Oh and really fatty.

But the fatty part that was expected, the easy part on the other hand… Not expected and yet a delightful surprise.

4 thoughts on “Scratch Made Alfredo Sauce

Leave a Reply

