Super Easy – Cheesy Caprese Quinoa

DSC_0390

DSC_0392

DSC_0403

This is the best recipe that I have tried in a long long time.  And if you make it as well, I think you will agree – It’s good.

So good my trophy husband gobbled it up and asked for seconds, and if I had kids I think they would do the same.

Since I am always looking for ways to delete meat from my diet (and my trophy husband is not), it can be tough to create a meal that will work for both of us.  But this one does.

Try it:

Cheesy Caprese Quinoa:

2 Cups cooked quinoa, 1 1/2 Cups pasta sauce,  2 Tbsp tomato paste, 1/3 Cup parmesan cheese, 1 Cup mozzarella cheese – divided, 1 small package grape tomatoes, basil (as much or as little as you like), 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, pepper to taste.

Cook quinoa and set aside.  Preheat oven to 350 C.  In a medium sized pan, heat pasta sauce and tomato paste until warm.  Then stir in red pepper, parmesan cheese and black pepper.  Next add your 2 cups of quinoa and half the mozzarella cheese, half the tomatoes (I cut them in half) and as much basil as you would like.  Spray or oil a baking dish – then pour the entire mixture in the dish.  Top with remaining cheese, tomatoes and more basil if you like.  Bake for 15 minutes, then broil for a few to brown the cheese.

Then serve.

DSC_0397

DSC_0404

DSC_0391

It’s that easy, and the trophy husband said it tasted like lasagna.  And we polished it off over the next few days as a quick leftover supper (just tossed back in the oven for 15 again and serve)

I found the original recipe here – but I tweaked it a bit.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Super Easy – Cheesy Caprese Quinoa

Leave a Reply

