Blueberry Cobbler

So its been a while.  I know.  Sorry!

I figured that I would make it up by sharing this beautiful recipe that I adapted from Kevin & Amanda (a Pinterest find by the way).

Blueberry Cobbler.  Hello!  So good – and especially since blueberries are in season, they are kind of affordable right now so you can make this without breaking the bank.

DSC_0478

The original recipe calls for only 4 ingredient – butter, vanilla cake mix, blueberries and sugar.  Well.  The first time I made this I followed the original recipe and it was WAAAAAAYYYYY too sweet for me and my family.  So I figured an adaptation would be easy.  And it was:

Blueberry Cobbler

3 cups blueberries, 1/4 cup sugar, 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup quick oats, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 of a cake mix.

First things first – pre heat the oven to 350 degrees.  I then followed the original instructions to make brown butter instead of just melting the butter to give the crumble a bit more flavour.  Once the butter has browned, I then add it to my mixer which had half the cake mix, about 1/2 a cup of flour and 1/2  a cup of quick oats, stirring until it was crumbly.  If its still too wet just add more of the dry ingredients (in my case I added a bit more cake mix).  To prepare the blueberries I just rinsed them and tossed them in the 1/4 cup sugar and a scant 1/4 cup flour.  Then just put them in a greased my Sophie Conran baking dish (because Sophie Conran makes the best stuff) and put the crumbs on top.  Bake at 350 for 40 minutes until its all bubbly and delicious.

DSC_0487

DSC_0481

DSC_0485

And then you eat it.

I hope this makes up for the fact that I haven’t done anything new here in a long long long long time.  The entire time that I typed this post I made the awkward smile face.  You know the one:

awkward dog

Leave a Reply

