Update – Home Tour – Living Room

So.

As previously discussed, my home is a work in progress (let’s be real here – everyone’s home is a work in progress).  Over the past few months I have been working on making my living room a little more liveable.  Lets all remember where we started:

DSC_0396

DSC_0393

Gahh.  So naked.

And now:

DSC_0421photo 1

I have been shopping my house and combined with a few new items and some rearranging, this room is looking a little less drab and a lot more fab.

DSC_0425

DSC_0384

DSC_0383

DSC_0381

DSC_0423

DSC_0439

We have been ‘looking’ for a coffee table since we moved in – by looking I mean casually looked and didn’t buy anything for 0ver 3 years.  So when we found this coffee table from Urban Barn we decided to take the plunge.  It was more expensive than I wanted (although still reasonable) but it was the only one my husband and I could agree on.

DSC_0386

This painting is one of my most prized possessions – it’s an Alex Janvier original that was gifted to my husband and I from my parents at our wedding.  It’s title is ‘Love Lines’.

DSC_0387

DSC_0388

DSC_0421

This area rug was a new acquisition from Homesense – I wanted an 8’x10′ for the space, but I was having a hard time procuring one (that I liked) in my tiny $200-$300 budget.  When I saw this one I thought it would coordinate well being neutral, but that it would also bring some dimension with the Ikat pattern.  And yes, I do see that there are some doggy crunches on the floor next to it, thats a regular occurrence in this house (and I am going to generalize here but I think its a regular occurrence to most people with doggies).

DSC_0367

DSC_0366

We had the floral chairs in the living room before, but when we bought the carpet I though that there were maybe too many different patterns happening and that they were a little too pretty for the space, so I pulled the floral chairs to the kitchen and pulled two dining chairs to the living room.  I think it was a good move.

DSC_0393

Yes, that is a self portrait of my husband and I hanging behind out TV.  It was a recent gift from my brother (who magically found an amazing local portrait painter here in Edmonton on Kijiji – and I regret to inform that I don’t know who it is!).   We haven’t decided where it will live forever, but because its so funny we decided to hang it right there for now (full disclosure, there were some existing screws in the wall from when I moved the TV to that location, the frame behind it was too large and hidden so we moved it to another spot, and left that one naked – self portrait to the rescue!).

DSC_0433

My poor husband had to lose his hair for this portrait, but the likeness is amazing.

DSC_0443

Yes, that is a lounge chair in my living room.  Don’t ask, it’s not permanent.

photo 1

I am pretty happy with its current state.  Of course I have a long list of things that I want to change (new chairs, new couch with chaise lounge, lounge chair back to the basement, new window coverings etc.) but with spending just over $1100 my living room almost looks new.

One thought on “Update – Home Tour – Living Room

Leave a Reply

